yr8 football champions 2014On a bright and sunny May evening in Southampton, the Harrow Way School year 8 football team were crowned Hampshire champions after a thrilling 1-0 win over Hounsdown School. In what was an exact rematch of last year’s final, our boys played their hearts out to lift the county trophy!

The first half was extremely close with nothing to separate the two teams. By half time, the deadlock had yet to be broken and the score remained 0-0. Having had the lion’s share of possession for much of the first half, Harrow Way came out at half time intent on securing the ball. With some fabulous one and two-touch passing in and around their opponents’ box, a shot came out of absolutely nowhere from Callum Cousins. Nobody expected it, least of all the Hounsdown keeper and all he and everyone else could do was watch the ball soar straight in to the top of the goal!

DSC_0262 lo res

Finally a decisive blow the game needed to come alive. From here on in, both teams had their chances to score with players at both ends hitting the woodwork a number of times. Tommy Willard came the closest to extending the lead by beating the goalkeeper only for the ball to be cleared off the line and scrambled away in a desperate piece of Hounsdown defending.

At the other end of the pitch, a goal nearly came to equalise the score only to be denied by Harrow Way goalkeeper Jake McGowan with an inspired and instinctive dive to his right to keep the ball out of the net. In a frantic and nail-biting attempt to retain their 1-0 lead, Harrow Way held on right until the final whistle and when it eventually did come, the Harrow Way boys must have felt like the weight of the world had been lifted from their shoulders. That’s exactly how it felt to all the Harrow Way supporters! We have done it! Harrow Way School from Andover are County Champions!

The Year 8 Harrow Way School football team of 2014 are:

Tommy Willard (C), Sam Bickerton, Ross Belbin, Jake McGowan (GK), Rhys Sullivan, Sam Clash, Callum Cousins, Conor Cousins, Jack Ardron, Owen Mussell, Matt Cooper, Nathan Hartfield, Adam Hampton, Oli Straffon, Sam Griggs, Tyler Barrow and Jake Shinton.

A huge thank you to all the families and Harrow Way School staff who came to support the team last Friday. Thank you especially to Mr Lawrie Carter, team manager and Head of Year 8.